Related Information


Czech Republic
There are four VVER-440 reactors (Dukovany 1–4) in operation in Czech Republic. The first reactor unit of the Dukovany Nuclear Power Plant was commissioned in 1985, the second and third units in 1986, and the fourth unit in 1987. The annual production of electric energy from nuclear power represents about 20% of the total consumption of electricity in the Czech Republic.



There are two VVER-440 reactor units in Finland, Loviisa 1 and Loviisa 2, both located at the Loviisa nuclear power plant operated by Fortum Power and Heat Oy. Loviisa 1 was commissioned in 1977 and Loviisa 2 in 1980. The operating licence for Loviisa 1 is valid until 2027 and Loviisa 2 until 2030. In 2015 the production of the Loviisa power plant corresponded to approximately 13% of Finland’s electricity production.



Slovakia has four VVER-440 nuclear reactors in operation and two VVER-440 reactors under construction: Bohunice V2 Unit 3 (commissioned 1984), Bohunice V2 Unit 4 (commissioned 1985), Mochovce Unit 1 (commissioned 1998), Mochovce Unit 2 (commissioned 1999), Mochovce Unit 3 (under construction) and Mochovce Unit 4 (under construction). The nuclear power plants in Slovakia are owned by the private company Slovak Electric company (SE), which is owned by the Italian company ENEL. Nuclear energy in Slovakia produces approximately 52% of the country’s electricity.



Ukraine has two VVER-440 reactor units in operation, Rivne unit 1 and unit 2. The two VVER- 440 power units were commissioned 1980 and 1981. The nuclear power plants in Ukraine are state property and are operated by National Nuclear Energy Generating Company (NNEGC) Energoatom.  



Four second generation VVER-440/V-213 nuclear reactors are operated by MVM Paks Nuclear Power Plant Ltd. as a shareholders' company and provide more than 50% of the total electricity production in Hungary. More than 99% of the shares of the Paks NPP are held by the state owned MVM Hungarian Electricity Board Ltd. while the remaining part is held by local governments. The four units were commissioned between 1982 and 1987 and Unit 1 and Unit 2 have already got the operation license for a 20-year extension beyond the original 30-year design lifetime. The same lifetime extension is to be granted for Unit 3 and Unit 4 in 2016 and 2017, respectively. Consequently, the shutdown of the four units is expected between 2032 and 2037, after 50 years of energy production. The effectiveness of the long-term operation was further increased by a power uprate from 460 MWe net output to 500 MWe carried out in all the four units between 2006 and 2009.